Paving The Way For Female Education

Mount Holyoke was founded in 1837 by Mary Lyon.  We studied her briefly in one of my classes this semester and learned she raised almost all the funding for the school herself.  Pretty amazing lady if you ask me, and just the beginning of what would be and is, a long line of incredible women speaking for equal rights.  You would love this class I’m taking, it’s called “Women Rhetoric and Social Change.”  Over Thanksgiving I’ll be working on an 8-10 page paper, analyzing a speech of Carrie Chapman Catt’s.  So excited. 😛

Oh the infamous standardized test.  I think the thing to always remember is that you can accomplish ANYTHING you want to do.  Most of the world believes in the quantitative power of a number and this is why standardized tests are so popular and loved by universities and…wait for it, yes, job hunters.  So my advice is to play the game, because it will give you more opportunities to choose from a little later in life.  I took a class the summer before the SAT which helped me understand the way it worked.  It’s a test, not a monster, and there is definitely a way to get inside its mind and understand how it works.  LOTS of practice tests, and don’t despair, keep on working hard.

When you visit colleges enjoy simply enjoy yourself. It’s hard to remember what I was thinking as I walked through the campuses because everything was so overwhelming, but one of the biggest things that sold me was the people.  The kids at Blair here were friendly, happy, and encouraging.  It might be different for you, maybe it’s the weather, the flora or fauna, but regardless, whatever place you go will be the right place.

Good questions to ask are: What do students here do in their free time or on the weekends?  What kind of student organizations do you have here?

You’re homeschooled?  So what, yes people will ask, but unless they have boundless questions, which I’m always happy to answer,I feel as though saying you’re homeschooled should be equated with any private school (only….*leans in* they’re better :P)

I cannot wait to hear more about your school tours!

Love you,

C

P.S. Can you believe I’m going to be home in just a little over a week?????

Leave a comment